Tendonitis is etymologically the inflammation of a tendon and its sheath. In reality, there is no inflammation in a chronic tendonitis. A tendonitis is occurred by micro-traumas caused by an unusual or excessive use of the tendon.
It may also be the result of an irregularity of the tendon, for example due to a strain or break, wether can be complete or partial. Palpation on the area of a tendons reveals a sharp pain especially when pressured.


Tendonitis

Everyone has already had a tendonitis. After a weekend of doing odd jobs, practicing an unusual physical activity. The most common causes of tendonitis are excessive strain, overuse of a joint, injury, repetitive movements.

In general, a tendonitis is temporary and disappears after a few days of complete rest. But sometimes it doesn’t. Some tendonitis persist because despite the pain, one continued to use their muscle and can not find an effective solution relieve their pain.

Top sportsmen never wait to come see me when they suffer from tendonitis, and they are right. The sooner a tendonitis is treated, the quicker you can go back to your personal and professional activities.


What are the possible complications of untreated tendinitis ?

When a tendonitis isn’t treated as it should, it can become tough. The tendon and its sheath stick to each other and calcify, triggering pain and a decrease in the mobility of the joint.

Serious complications of tendonitis and tenosynovitis include muscle atrophy and disability.

To relieve and treat tendonitis, one should consult a therapist. The methods used at home can be effective for a while, but an untreated tendonitis tends to reappear quickly, becoming a handicap in everyday life. Treating the cause of a tendonitis is the only way to stop suffering from it for good.

Healthy tendons are like these ropes. Not only are the fibers all running uniformly in the same direction, there is little or no fraying.

Tendinosis and not tendonitis is characterized by incredible fraying, fragmenting, tangling, and twisting of the tendon. This causes weakness and inelasticity that can not only painfully debilitating, it can lead to tendon rupture.

Tendinitis can be classified into 4 stages :

Stage 1 : pain occurring after sports and yielding at rest
Stage 2 : pain occurring at the beginning of the effort and reappears during fatigue
Stage 3 : Permanent pain during a sporting effort. The pain can become chronic and permanent in daily life
Stage 4 : tendon rupture.

Three signs are necessary for the diagnosis of tendonitis :

– Pain on palpation
– Pain at stretching
– Pain during the upset.contraction of the muscle chain


11 November 2017 - 10 h 06 min

Tendonitis

La tendinite correspond étymologiquement à l'inflammation d’un tendon et de sa gaine. En réalité, on ne retrouve pas d'inflammation lors d'une tendinite chronique, il s’agit de micro-traumatismes provoqués par une sollicitation trop importante ou inhabituelle.
Elle peut être aussi la résultante d'une irrégularité du tendon, due par exemple à une élongation ou une rupture tendineuse partielle. La palpation au niveau de la tendinite réveille une douleur vive à la pression.

Photo présentation

Tout le monde a déjà eu une tendinite. Lors d'un week-end de bricolage chez des amis, en jardinant, en pratiquant une activité physique inhabituelle. Les causes les plus courantes de la tendinite sont un effort excessif, une sur-utilisation d'une articulation, une blessure, des mouvements répétitifs.

En général, cette tendinite est passagère et disparaît après quelques jours de repos complet. Et puis il y a les tendinites qui perdurent car vous avez malgré la douleur continué à utiliser votre muscle et vous ne trouvez pas de solutions efficaces pour vous soigner.

Les sportifs de haut niveau n'attendent plus pour venir me voir lorsqu'il souffre d'une tendinite, faites comme eux. Plus votre tendinite est pris en charge rapidement, plus vite elle est soignée, plus vite vous pouvez retrouver vos activités personnelles ou professionnelles.


Quelles sont les éventuelles complications d'une tendinite non traitée ?

Lorsque son traitement n'est pas adapté, une tendinite peut devenir tenace. Le tendon et sa gaine se collent l’un à l’autre et se calcifient, ce qui provoque des douleurs et diminue la mobilité de l’articulation.

Les complications graves de la tendinite et de la ténosynovite sont notamment une atrophie musculaire et une invalidité.

Pour soulager et traiter une tendinite il faut consulter. Les méthodes appliquées à la maison sont efficaces ponctuellement mais votre tendinite réapparaitra rapidement, vous handicapant dans la vie de tous les jours. Traiter la cause de votre tendinite est la seule solution pour que vous ne souffriez plus d'une tendinite aiguë ou chronique.

Bibliographie

Epicondylitis : pathogenesis, imaging, and treatment. Walz DM, Newman JS, Konin GP, Ross G.Radiographics. 30 janvier 2010 (1) P167-84.
Imagerie clinique du pied - Alain Chevrot – 1997 – P250
Médecine du sport - Hugues Monod, Pierre Rochcongar – Masson – 4ème édition – 2009 – P439
Treat Your Own Tennis Elbow - Pt Jim Johnson – 2010 – P16
Les tendinites de l'épaule - Martine Baillargeon, Marie Jeanne Costa, Louis Patry et Michel Rossignol – Editions Multi-Mondes – 1998 – P21
Le coude microtraumatique - Jacques Rodineau, Christian Hérisson – Masson – 2006 – P13
La tenosynovite de De Quervain - Martine Baillargeon, MarieJeanne Costa, Louis Patry et Michel Rossignol – Multi-Mondes – 1997 – P1
Le genou de l'enfant et de l'adolescent - Alain Diméglio – Masson – 1991 – P346
Shoulder Tendinitis - Louis Patry,Ontario – Multi-Mondes – 1998 – P56
Pediatric orthopedics for primary care physicians - Dennis S. Weiner – Cambridge - 2004 – P99